Upgrading to SharePoint ShortUrl Version 9
*IMPORTANT: Uninstalling and/or deactivating SharePoint ShortUrl (prior to Version 6) from a Web Application will remove the ShortUrl List and all ShortUrl's held in the root Site Collection of the Web Application to which it is Activated. Before Deactivating you must rename and/or back up the ShortUrl list if you wish to save your ShortUrl's.
If you are upgrading from a previous version of SharePoint ShortUrl you can keep all existing ShortUrl’s and permissions in place by using the existing ShortUrl List.
>Before uninstallation of a previous version (prior to Version 6), locate the ShortUrl List in the Web Application’s root Site Collection and rename the ShortUrl List.
>Deactivate SharePoint ShortUrl from each Web Application to which is Activated and follow the uninstallation instructions.
>Do an IIS Reset after Uninstallation.
>Locate the renamed ShortUrl List and rename back to ‘ShortUrl’.
>Install Version 9 of SharePoint ShortUrl- the ShortUrl List will be preserved when the SharePoint ShortUrl Web Application Feature is Activated!
*Please refer to the documentation provided.